About the Awards

The Air New Zealand Wine Awards ran until 2018 and was the premier wine competition in New Zealand recognising excellence in winemaking. The competition was owned and organised by New Zealand Winegrowers, the national organisation for the country's 1,700 grape growers and winemakers.

In 2017, 1,300+ wines were judged by a team of local and international judges to identify medal and trophy winners for each of the varietal categories.

Every year kiwi wine lovers eagerly awaited the results of the Air New Zealand Wine Awards to help them with their selection of quality New Zealand wine.

The competition ran for over 30 years and 2017 was the 31st year that Air New Zealand had been the naming rights sponsor for this competition. It was also the 42nd year that New Zealand Winegrowers had managed the Awards.

In conjunction with the Awards, a dinner was held to announce and celebrate the medal winning wines and the Trophy winning wines, and to acknowledge the talents of our winemakers. This was a high-profile black-tie dinner, with a quality focus both in terms of wine and fine New Zealand cuisine.

The 2017 Air New Zealand Wine Awards dinner were held at Pettigrew Green Arena, Hawke's Bay on Saturday 25 November.

The New Zealand Wine of the Year™ Awards is now the official national wine competition of the New Zealand wine industry, replacing the Air New Zealand Wine Awards and the Bragato Wine Awards from 2018.

The New Zealand Wine of the Year™ Awards combines the very best components of the previous competitions, with a focus on rewarding the grape grower and their single vineyard wines, as well as championing New Zealand wine excellence on a larger scale.

Please visit www.nzwine.com/events for more information.